Lowland single malts are single malt whiskies distilled in Scotland’s lowlands. The region is home to seven distilleries which are both currently producing and commercially available: Ailsa Bay, in Girvan; Annandale Distillery in Annan; Auchentoshan near Clydebank; Bladnoch in Galloway; Daftmill in Fife; The Glasgow Distillery in Glasgow; and Glenkinchie distillery near Edinburgh.
Several new distilleries have begun to produce new-make spirit in recent years, including Kingsbarns distillery and InchDairnie distillery,both in Fife, and Lindores Abbey,at Ardgowan,
At least six other lowland single malts are still available, but are no longer distilled: Rosebank, Kinclaith, St. Magdalene, Ladyburn, Inverleven, and Littlemill.
As a region, the Lowlands have been more strongly associated with grain whisky and blended whisky than malt whisky. Blended whisky often uses a high proportion of Lowland malt, as the less intense flavour profile means it does not dominate the other constituent whiskies.